Jersey City 950

Buying a Gun in NJ?

Buying a Gun in New Jersey? If you want to purchase a gun there, there are many—many—steps you must go through, and the process can take a long time.New Jersey has some of the most stringent gun laws in the country.  If you want to purchase a gun there, there are many—many—steps you must go through, and the process can take a long time.

According to a statement by State Police Capt. Stephen Jones, “The things you have to go through here are probably a lot more extreme — or a lot more thorough, I’ll put it that way — than in any other state.”

How to Legally Purchase a Gun in New Jersey 

To buy any firearm in New Jersey, you must first complete an Application for Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (Form STS-33) as well as the attached Handgun Purchasing Permit at your local police department or registered firearms dealer. You must also provide contact information for two character witnesses who can attest to your mental health. You must also complete a Consent for Mental Health Records Search application from the local police department. All this information, along with your driver’s license and Social Security card, is then taken to the police department, which will conduct a thorough background check, including a review of the mental health records and personal references provided.

Enjoying this content? Find out how you can get more sent straight to your inbox.

If you successfully pass these checks and requirements, you will be issued a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card. This process can take up to 30 days or longer, depending upon how busy the local department is at the time and how persistent you are. State law requires the department to respond within 30 days, but that is often ignored and they may take several months to respond. So stay on top of your application.

The card enables you to buy a rifle, shotgun or pellet gun, assuming you also pass a National Instant Criminal Background Check mandated by the Brady Law at the time of purchase.

But all of that still does not permit you to purchase a handgun.

NJ Gun Permit

To buy a handgun in New Jersey, the process is a separate but similar. You must submit Form STS-33 along with the Handgun Purchasing Permit. (Some of the newer state forms includes this as part of the STS-33).  If you are issued a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card to purchase a handgun, you will be limited to a single purchase within a 90-day period. Each subsequent purchase requires you to go through the entire process each time.

Capt. Young explained, “Handguns are much more often used in the commission of a crime than a long gun, a rifle or a shotgun, because of the nature of concealment. A handgun is easier to hide, so it’s harder to get one.”

Concealed Carry in NJ

But being approved to buy a handgun does not mean you can carry it around with you. You must then obtain a separate permit to carry the firearm. And that is a completely different process, with additional layers of checks. To start, you will need to complete an Application for a Permit to Carry a Handgun (Form SP-642).

You must also provide a written letter that demonstrates a “justifiable need” to carry—such as evidence of “serious threats”—in order to obtain a concealed carry permit. You will also need to provide three character witnesses who can testify as to your “sound moral character.” Then you must be able to demonstrate a “thorough familiarity” with the safe handling and use of handguns, as evidenced by completion of a firearms training course, submission of handgun qualification scores, or passage of test on New Jersey’s use of force laws.

And don’t even think of carrying a handgun in New Jersey with a permit issued by another state. New Jersey does not have laws which allow individuals with valid permits to carry a handgun from anyother states to carry a handgun in New Jersey.


Your Protection Starts Here!

Become a part of the nation’s best Legal Defense for Self Defense® Program and get armed, educated, and prepared today.

The information provided in this publication is intended to provide general information to individuals and is not legal advice. The information included in this publication may not be quoted or referred to in any other publication without the prior written consent of U.S. LawShield, to be given or withheld at our discretion. The information is not a substitute for, and does not replace the advice or representation of a licensed attorney. We strive to ensure the information included in this publication is accurate and current, however, no claim is made to the accuracy of the information and we are not responsible for any consequences that may result from the use of information in this publication. The use of this publication does not create an attorney-client relationship between U.S. LawShield, any independent program attorney, and any individual.